AC Milan: The Immortal

AC Milan is an Italian football club headquartered in the northern Italian city of Milan, founded in 1899 by Herbert Kilpin and Alfred Edwards, formerly known as “Milan Football and Cricket Club”. The Milan Football Association was founded in 1899 by Les English. Except for the 1980/81 and 1982/83 seasons, the club’s entire history was spent in the Italian top-flight Serie A between 1929 and 30. The AC Milan Football Association was founded on December 13, 1899.

From the beginning, Milan was part football club and part cricket club, and at that time, the club was called the Milan Football and Cricket Club. Still, football soon became predominant, and in 1919 the club was renamed FC Milan (the name would change again, first to Milan Associazione Sportiva and then to Associazione Calcio Milan). In 1908, a group of players from Milan seceded and formed a rival team, Internazionale Milano Football Club, expressly to accept foreign players. 1908 marked a turning point in the history of the Italian club Milan when the merged club split into two separate teams to decide whether to buy foreign players or continue to field only Italian footballers.

In the 1989-90 season, Milan, described by the Italian media as “immortal”, was voted the best club team of all time in a global expert poll conducted by World Soccer magazine. Between 1993 and 1995, Milan reached three consecutive Champions League finals. Their victory over Barcelona in Athens in 1994 was voted the game of the century by Milan fans in a referendum celebrating the club’s centenary. Milan is the winner of 18 Serie A titles (Italian football’s top league) and one of the most successful teams in the world in international club competitions. Team Milan AC is one of the most successful teams globally. It has won 6 European Championships, 18 (national) Serie A titles, 4 European Super Cups, 5 Italian Super Cups since its inception in the 1899 Cup winner and 3 Intercontinental Cup winners.  Milan’s unbeaten streak is a Serie A record and the third-longest in European football’s top leagues, behind the 104-match unbeaten streak of Etis Bucharest and Celtic. Unbeaten record of 68 games.

In 2007, when Milan won the Club World Cup for the first time, Milan became the most successful European club in the history of international competitions with 18 major trophies. Milan is a club that has made an enormous contribution to the world of football. From December 2007 to February 2014, Milan won the most international titles recognised by FIFA. The club won its first Serie A title. At the same time, Andrea Rizzoli was the first president of Milan and the Italian team to win Euro 1963 at Wembley, while Silvio Berlusconi was the most Italian, successful European president in the world. The new century’s most outstanding AC Milan players are Andrea Pirlo, Clarence Seedorf, Kaka! Alessandro Nesta and Andriy Shevchenko.